Colreg.net

colreg and so much more

Add/View Orals Feedback

Forum Home > Mates orals > Chief Mate 11/2 Oral- Captain Kaisar Ali- Dec 2013

a.best

Chief Mate 11/2 Oral examination Surveyor: Captain Kaisar Ali

Candidate: Alistair Best Date: 04th December 2013

Time: 13:40 – 14:45

The following information is how I remember the exam, I may have missed out some questions, and I have deliberately not included my answers, only the questions as I remember them being asked; I hope that the information is of some use to you and for your preparations! Captain Ali is a very fair man, and when he wanted more information from my answer he prompted me to bring it all out. I tried wherever possible to answer his question directly and not to waffle on endlessly, my advice is avoid digging yourself any holes and just get straight to the point!

Introduction to the exam, he told me that I am a Chief Officer on a UK flagged vessel for all questions unless specifically otherwise instructed and that I should structure my answers as appropriate according to that information. Procedural check of documentation, chatted about my current vessel and areas of operation, we had a brief chat about the Malaysian region and Falkland Islands as we both had sailed in those waters, at this point it was just a chat and a nice introduction to the examination to calm my nerves.

How does ISM work on your ship?

Apart from ISM what is you main concern with joining a laid up vessel?

How would you check and correct for retentive error?

What is ACS? What are the duties of Chief Officer?

How does the PMS system operate on your ship?

What was an Enclosed Space? How would you prepare to enter?

What are the dangers of bulk cargos?

What information would you give to 2nd mate for discharging cargo in port?

Documentation required to carry various cargos?

What regulations require a rescue boat check?

How often is this done and who does this check?