Kedar Samant

1st attempt

Vessel Type : DSV

Masters Unlimited

Surveyor: Capt. Fletcher

Time : 1Hr 20 Min

Result : Pass

20.06.2013 @ 1500

1500 Capt. Fletcher took me inside looked through my Docs. Chatted about offshore & my trading areas for 7 to 10 minutes.

I told him that I have been working as a Mate on DSV for past 10 Years out of which last 7 years on the same vessel. Finished with my docs & I kept it aside, he said as your are standing lets walk to the magnetic compass.

How will you carry out a Tentative Swing?

He did not mention what type of vessel said all answers as per UK Flag.

Joining as a master what are your concerns?

How will you carry out an ISM Audit?

Now while taking rounds during audit you found 3/E Bunkering without Bunker C/L?

3/E says he is been a 3/E for 30 years and does not need to fill up the C/L?

Is it NC OR MNC? (NC…. As per MCA it is a MNC)

No w Actions? ( CAP & downgrade)

Is C/E Equally responsible? Disciplinary actions?

What standing orders will you leave for your officers?

I f your company had set standing orders, can you change them as a master? How?

When you were checking your vessel certs you found SMD SMC address is not matching?

Can you sail?

Who is responsible?

What other documents will you check other that ISSC? ( looking for CSR)

You find No 4 of CSR missing which was another flag actions?

Will you inform MCA?

New crew joining Indian AB, Bangladeshi 2/0 actions?

AB what other certs than STCW? ( He was looking for Proficiency in security Awareness training, I also told him about exemptions if 6 months sea time, Security Fam for all, he was happy and went on)

2/0 National COC actions?

What is CRA?

Is Bangladesh GOC valid? ( Said will check the list of approved countries)

He asked is there a M Notice on this? NO

Where will you find out? On MCA website.

Bangladesh not on list of approved countries, what will you do?

AB Eng 1 expired?

No approved doctors?

Can you sail?

No relief?